Suggestions needed on how to start.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Suggestions needed on how to start.

Hi,
      I have had this dream about working in Game Development for quite a long time, but it was just a dream and I had no idea how to go about it.
      In my final year of University(Computer Science) I decided that it has to be Game Programming. I love the concept of programming and was always curious how games work. I am proficient with JAVA and have decent C++ skills, though I am not up-to-date with C++11.

I have been reading GCC4 and I am into the third chapter, so, I would like to take a pause and confirm if it's the right approach.

Should I continue with GCC4 and jump head-on in the nuances of Game Programming or do I need to work on simpler(essential) components of C++.

My second issue is that I am a graduate now and have voluntarily opted to sit at home for few months, to develop my own game. Is that the right thing to do or should I get a job as an Software Engineer and work(on the sides) towards my dream.

I prefer sitting at home and enhancing my abilities the best I can, but I could be naive about this.

In India, Game Development is a fairly new industry and almost all of the development is for mobile based games, with some exceptions. I had a job interview for a Gaming firm, fresh out of college, and I made it through the final rounds of Technical questions and they suggested that I brush up my skills and if possible create some games. I know what I have to do but not how to.
      ?(

Any suggestions on the above mentioned issues or how to start learning, (and if possible)developing games at this stage.

Regards.