Reliant on intellisense?

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Reliant on intellisense?

Hi All,

I'm just starting with DirectX (I've been using C/C++ on and off for the last 2 years) since the start I have been coding in VS2005 which I love but one thing I've noticed is... I've become very reliant on Intellisense, if I had it off I don't think I'd get very far. So many pre-defined DirectX constants/functions I seem to forget loads of them... do people actually learn/remember them all (well, most of them)?

I'm just asking because I was wondering if it would be beneficial to actually turn it off while learning in the hope of remembering more, or does it really not matter?

I'd be interested in hearing how many people don't use intellisense, or if it was turned off wouldn't have any problems.

I don't really feel I could ever remember them, perhaps I just have a bad memory... but if you are expected to I should probably just give up now :P

Any responses would be appreciated - hope that makes sense and sorry for my English - not my first language.
    • RE: Reliant on intellisense?

Dood if I turned any of that off I'd be completely useless....
      Mr.Mike
      Author, Programmer, Brewer, Patriot

Yeah, I'd be pretty useless too. Use the tools you have. There's really no reason to cripple yourself. Besides, you rarely make D3D calls in a professional game studio. Typically there's an abstraction layer or middleware engine (like Gamebryo) that wraps all that stuff.

-Rez
    • I recently began some development on Linux, I have only done some small stuff before, but now I'm going for a bit larger project. I have not found any IDE for Linux that has any form of "intellisense" that is as good as Visual's. Hehe, though it's probably because they're there, but I have not found/activated them yet... :P

But those things certainly makes things easier.