Possibility of game dev jobs without a degree very slim?

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Possibility of game dev jobs without a degree very slim?

Hey,

I'm currently 19 and I dream of one day working in the gaming industry, I have pretty much since the first time I played a game.

I've been learning C++ along with a mixture of OpenGL and DirectX for the last year, well actually I've been messing with C++ for 3 years, but only started learning seriously in the last year. I love programming, I love games and I love Maths!

Unfortunately due to illness going to university for a degree isn't an option (I'm going to be stuck inside for the next 3 years, minimum). Does this pretty much dash my hopes of ever working in the game industry? I'm obviously willing to self-teach myself everything possible over the next 3, 4 maybe even 5 years but if even at the end of that I'd have no chance getting a job because I don't have an official degree that would be quite a waste.

I'd be interested in hearing any opinions,

Thanks!

edit: Just finished reading the game coding complete 2nd edition after I finally got hold of a copy in the re-print, great book!
    • RE: Possibility of game dev jobs without a degree very slim?

I'm still a college student myself, but I think it also depends on how good you're at programming. If you're exceptional good at it, they might overlook it. Don't quote me on that though.