Game Testing/Internship search+Advice

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Game Testing/Internship search+Advice

I've tried Dice.com and I was wondering if anyone else knew of a good way to actually get some game testing/beta testing experience to "break in" to the game industry or if anyone knew of a website or search engine that is tailored to just that - Game Testing?

I am 22 Years old have taken AP Computer Science Courses in High School and am currently in College Majoring in Computer Science. I am familiar with C++/HTML/BASIC (Yes I do realize that HTML will not help me in any way to write games) and consider myself to be intermediate in C++ only because I know I am not a game programming god like John Carmack or of course Mike. I've read Game Coding up to half way already and plan on getting a Bachelor's of Science Degree in Computer Science in 4 years by Transfering to ITT Technical Institute of Technology.

Basically I am at a starting point in a career that I know will be difficult but well rewarding.

To fund this I plan on getting A+ and Network+ certifications to build some IT experience. I am 80% Done with Network+.

I'm aware of the growing demands and the workload involved especially to keep up with the evolution of technology. I'm ready to stay away 100 Hours in a week with coffee next to me as I logically debug and analyze code and at the same time meet a deadline. I can type 60+ Words per minute purely from the organized thoughts in my mind or from acoustic encoding (sound) with a 5% probabiliy of error in syntax.

I have the software and the hardware to practice game coding such as:

Software:
      3DStudioMax
      MilkShape 3D
      CoolEditPro
      Adobe Photoshop
      Jasc Paintshop Pro
      MSDN Library
      Microsoft Visual Studio 2005
      Microsoft Visual C++ 6.0
      Windows XP Pro
      BlitzPlus
      Blitz3D

Hardware:
      1 Desktop Computer
      2.0Ghz