What next?

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• So, I've read the book and hopefully it's made me a more aware and better programmer. I graduated from a BSc in computer Games Technology at Abertay in Dundee, Scotland and now work as part of a 10-ish man studio 4J.

I've been here ten months and have one project just completed submission at Sony and another one in the works.

So where do I go next? I'm not going to kick back and claim I know anything about game programming, I seriously feel like I don't have a clue :-).

So, I have to write a simple-ish renderer for the Xbox 360. How do I go about taking what I know and turning it into a project? I feel as though I have mental overload constituting in a mental block.

I can't focus on one thing without worrying on another. So, I need a renderer, but I need resources to render, which needs file I/O to get them in which needs memory allocation to have somewhere to store them which needs me to learn the nuances of the Xbox 360 and how it's low level API and OS work.

How does anyone ever go about starting a project on a brand new system and actually make headway?

Anyone have any good advice on how to divide and conquerthe tasks in a functional order to get a game architecture up and running in a smooth-ish and linear manner?
    • RE: What next?

My advice may not be good and there are certainly people much more qualified than I to answer this question. Most of my huge personal projects fizzle and die. This latest one is definately going better than any others though. :) Kain or Mike would be better (and I'm interested in hearing the answer myself).

That having been said, here are a few things I do.