Allegro opinions?

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Allegro opinions?

Any of you seasoned game programers have opinions on Allegro?

I'm an experienced software developer, but I'm just getting into game programming (as a hobby, not a career). I've read several books on the game programming, and have been lurking here in the forums for several months. I've started playing with the Allegro library, and it seems to "click" for me. I'm not sure why; one of those software tools things (e.g. some prefer vi, others emacs).

However, since I have no game experience, I'm worried that I may not see potential weaknesses in the library. I'm hoping someone here can tell me what to look out for with Allegro.

Thanks.
    • RE: Allegro opinions?

I've heard of this library before, but I've never used it. I took a glance and it looks like it tries to solve the portability problem, but doesn't seem to offer too much in the way of 3D graphics. If you're making a 2D sprite game, it'll be fine. If you want to make a hardcore 3D game, you'll probably find yourself reinventing the wheel a lot. Again, this is only from 15 minutes of reading the highlights, so take it for what it's worth. :)

I doubt you'd ever see this engine used in a professional game studio. If you're not interested in doing this as a career, then it doesn't matter too much. Use it if it clicks for you.