Hello!

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Hello!

I thought I would say a little introduction being I just bought the book! My name is Glen and I work in the game industry. I just picked up this book oh like 5 mins ago and I'm really excited of getting more into it!

I'm hoping this book can help push me more into game programming and give me lots of real tips that I can use! I look forward to lurking around the forums. =)

Thanks!

-Glen

The post was edited 1 time, last by Famine ().

• Welcome! If you have any questions while digging through the book, let us know and we'll do our best to answer them.

You work for Funcom? Oh man.... The Longest Journey is the best adventure game I've ever played, hands down. I didn't even realize that Dreamfall was out.... I'm gonna have to grab it today!

-Rez
    • Originally posted by rezination
      Welcome! If you have any questions while digging through the book, let us know and we'll do our best to answer them.

You work for Funcom? Oh man.... The Longest Journey is the best adventure game I've ever played, hands down. I didn't even realize that Dreamfall was out.... I'm gonna have to grab it today!

-Rez

Thanks and yes I work for FunCom. Dreamfall is out now for both PC and Xbox. I had just picked up the book on my lunch break and now just waiting for the day to end so I can go home and READ! =)
    • the best thing about the book is that is goes into game architecture. Most game programming books tell you how to write a DirectX wrapper and happily ignore things like the seperation of Application components, events, writing portable code, etc. Nothing will kill a game company (especially a small one like mine) faster than writing janky code that can't stand up to the test of time. Well, that and nuclear winter.

My only complaint is that I wish there was more, but the book is already 1000+ pages, hehe.

-Rez