Technical Writing??

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Technical Writing??

Hi everyone, I'm a college student aspiring to be a game programmer and was wondering if I could ask any software engineers or game programmers out there a quick question. But before that, I love the book Mike, it's awesome and very inspiring!

To the question: I have a technical writing class I'm in right now and an assignment was to ask an engineer about the importance of writing and communication in their field, types of writing that will be expected to produce, potential audiences for the writings, and the nature of the writing medium (I'm guessing electronic =P ). I decided to ask here to any programmers since it would help me know what to expect once I'm out of college and out on the job in terms of written communication in a software development environment.

Thanks for any responses =D
    • RE: Technical Writing??

I know i'm not the person you want responding to your post but i have a suggestion. Comments in code seems to be teh perfect example of writin communication in the programming field. How do you expess the meaning of code or how do you explain what you were TRYING to do even if you failed horribly? Comments. Just think about it.
      .Code
      push you ; haha!

On my small team, it's usually scrawlings on whiteboard and random pieces of paper for intrateam communication, but we write documents detailing each program (or modification) before we start.
      -Larrik Jaerico

www.LarrikJ.com
    • I've found that the quantity and quality of technical documentation varies greatly from company to company. Some companies have very little, other companies have huge amounts.