My current state

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• My current state

It's really been a while since I've been overly active on the forums, so I figured I'd give you all an update.

I got my degree in May, graduating Cum Laude (rocking!). I started applying to places online, and really didn't get much interest. I tried a headhunter, but nothing came of it. I tried applying to Breakaway Games, but they really didn't have a position for me. My current employer hired my replacement, and so I went down to part-time (which was fine... I needed a day off each week for interviews and such).

Eventually, I got an email from a place about an hour away from me. They found ME on Monster (I hadn't applied to them), and eventually they offered me the position. I declined, as the salary was very low, and the commute was very far (and my car broke down while I was considering their offer, as a sign that I really couldn't take it). That kind of sucked, because that seemed like a pretty cool job (not games, though).

I applied to more places online, including to places like Nintendo. I actually put up a mini portfolio, as well. Still nothing. I ended up talking with a very successful businesswoman friend of the family, who hooked me up with Robert Half Technology. They got me an interview somewhere, but I didn't get it.

By this time, people are calling my cell asking for my resume. They tend to be Indian, and they tend to give me a different company name every time. So far, none have called back. I've also been getting email offers for jobs in NYC with outrageous pay scales. I never heard back from the ones I applied there, either. (You know, my current company replies to every resume) Oh, and my replacement at work quit before I did (haha!).