My Code/Your Code?

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• My Code/Your Code?

Hi again. Heh. You'll probably see me on here pretty frequently probing this idea and posing that question as I'm new to a LOT that this book has to offer.

This question is: When does code become MY code and lose it's legal implications?

Of course, what I'm aiming at is that the architecture described in the book is VERY good and so I will want to follow it pretty tightly (as in, the separation between app, logic and view layers. As well as the concept of event handlers, listeners, etc), and there are certain pieces of code that I have tweaked and trimmed to my preference (such as the HD, CPU and Memory checking code) and as I hope to eventually properly release the game we're working on and make money from it.. how much has to change before code can be considered free of distribution clauses and the like? As a whole I imagine my project will be very different (different Memory Cache for example) but for the smaller useful functions (that are also safeguarded by copyright headings) I just want to clear this up :)

The post was edited 1 time, last by Mingoo ().

• YOU HAVE NO CHANCE, MAKE YOUR TIME.
      ALL OF YOUR CODE ARE BELONG TO US!

Just kidding. Here's an excerpt from the header of one of the source files from the book:
      // This work is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License.
      // To view a copy of this license, visit creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/1.0/
      // or send a letter to:
      // Creative Commons
      // 559 Nathan Abbott Way
      // Stanford, California 94305, USA.