The "interface" classes.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• The "interface" classes.

Hello all. I'm totally new here. In fact I'm rather new to C++. (I used to dwell in the realm of VB) After working on "Phantasm Souls" for a year or so (I'm not sure if anyone here has heard of it) I decided to move over to C++.

I have a fairly strong understanding of it, thanks to Game Coding Complete 2nd Edition and Learning C++ (by Neill Graham) and a few internet resources.

My only question I've been unable to find an answer for, and it's probably really simple, is why Mr Mike creates abstract base classes for all the major parts of his project, even if only one other class will inherit from it. Can't the inheriting class just BE the top of the heirarchical tree?

Is this for the sake of efficiency, the sake of quickly modifiable code or is it just a known C++ coding practice?

A good example is the iAudio and iAudioBuffer that are inherited by cAudio and cAudioBuffer who only perform the generic parts of the audio code before being inherited by cDirectSoundAudio and cDirectSoundAudioBuffer who do the sound API specific parts. To my mind cAudio and cAudioBuffer could do it all without the need for the "interface" Abstract Base Classes.

I hope I've explained what I'm confused about clearly :)

Steve
    • my understanding of it is this:

it provides a common interface for all code to interact with. in the book, where he only shows one or two inhereited classes, a full project might have multiple inheritances. it therefore allows you to have an interface that will always work.
      this is also importanfor cross-platform development. your interface for the objects will always be the same, no matter how different the uynderlying implementation will be
      (Place cool Signature here)
    • Yes, what yen said.