Official Introduction

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Official Introduction

I always like to introduce myself, so here you go. If you don't care, you can exit this post now :P

I started programming when I was 9 on an Atari 800XL. Anyone else out there remember how much fun it was to save on an audio cassette? :P I've been mainly an experimenter since then, trying various combinations and languages just to see what they can do.

In college, I was a theater arts major, but continued to tinker to the current day. I'm now employed as a 911 Communications Officer in the state of Washington, and looking to start my first real project. Now I just have to decide which idea to use! :P

Unfortunately, work is as a relief, so I have an 80-hour a month maximum. I do some house cleaning to finish paying the bills, and still have waaaaaay too much free time on my claws ;) So, I've lately gone full-tilt into programming-mode.

Finding Mike's book was a Godsend :) I've spent hundreds of dollars on books, only to find them out of date, irrelevant, or, in the case of one of the two books I ordered at the same time as Mike's, so full of errors as to be annoying :P Finally, there's a book I can use to fill in the gaps left by those "basic" books on languages. Ever notice how hard it is to find the books you need to teach yourself advanced programming? Either that or I need to quit relying on Amazon :P

In addition to those mentioned above, I'm also serving as one of the Admins for an online gaming clan known as The Mature Gaming Association. Currently over 100 members strong, so it takes a little more of my time, while still leaving me waaaaaaay too much free time. On the plus side, there's a graphical artist and sound engineer in the clan, so I have a few more resources than I might otherwise have access to for making a game ;)