About Game Programming

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• About Game Programming

Hello, i am from Serbia.
      I am currently 15 y/o, high school and i like playing video games. I would like to learn some programming, i was doing at Python and Pawn(for Counter Strike 1.6 mods) and i have some basic knowledge, i wanna know what program should i start to learn and what program is using in game industry to programm games.
      I heard that C++ is using for programming, Adobe Air for clients and PHP for sites, but i am not very sure is that true or not.

Thank you.
    • Yep, C++ is the primary language of the games industry, so you will need to learn it at some point.

However, at your age, I would recommend starting with Unity. You'll be able to skip all the engine stuff and get something up and running very quickly. It'll also teach you C#, which is derived from C++ (as well as other languages, like Java). It's a really good place to start and the learning curve is MUCH smaller than starting with pure C++.

-Rez
    • Eh, not exactly. The programmers are the heart of the game. Our job is to enable the creativity of designers. Designers are typically the ones who piece everything together; specifically the level designers.

-Rez
    • I am also a highschool programmer (and also happen to be 15), just as you are. I have been programming for roughly 6 years now in c++ and still am only able to make small game engines that function, just not to the standard I'd hope. I wish you good luck on your endeavors though and suggest you learn c++ and suggest you look at some beginning books for c++ or similar.

If you want to get started in c++ i'd suggest just taking a look online, there are many great resources out there!
      Unity is a good example of what an engine needs to be able to do to, however i wouldn't suggest you try to program an engine until your extremely confident in the language.