Do I have a chance in the game industry?

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Do I have a chance in the game industry?

Dear all,

I have a simple question, that's stated in the subject of this post: Do I have a chance in the game industry?

Before you can answer, let me tell you a little bit about myself and what I want to do. I have a french engineering master's degree in Signal Processing for digital communication, which I obtained in 2010. After my master's degree I had a PhD contract with Technicolor in France. The subject of the PhD was the multimodal analysis of video content, and I especially worked on events recognition in movies audio streams, such as the detection of gunshots, or screams. The methods heavily relied on machine learning, and I like to think I acquired a fair expertise in the subject. I worked particularly with support vector machines (SVM), Bayesian Networks (which I know the best, strucutre learning, parameter learning, inference, you name it), Gaussian Mixture Models, Kmeans, K-Nearest Neighbours (who doesn't know about this one? :-)), Hidden Markov Models (HMM) and I have knowledge about a few others, such as the well know Neural Networks. In the end, I worked on how to stabilise the representation of the data that we input the classifier algorithm. I defended my PhD in October last year, 2013.