Program Planning?

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Program Planning?

Hey there, this is more of a General Question. I am a Geophysicist by profession, and took a few extra computer science classes, and programmed in my spare time. Did some game devving for fun, and it actually got my a programming job for the summer with a Seismic processing company. I have done some projects and things, but I am wanting to start a bigger project. I am the type of person who likes to have it planned out before I go into the project, is there any books or anything anyone can recommend? This book actually helps quite a bit, I think the architecture is very smart, and I used it when i made my small 2d game. The program I am wanting to make is something called full waveform inversion and it is quite a big, math heavy thing, so I am wanting to plan something with a good trade off of speed, but not be horrible to look at. I know this is a long winded post, but I am wondering if anyone has any suggestions.
    • It really depends on what you mean by planning, if you mean planning out the architecture of the code, I would say you can approach it in many different ways such as mind mapping, whiteboard, technical design documents, etc, however if you mean the actual project planning, I would recommend to you the book 'Agile Game Development with Scrum', although this deals mostly with team development, it has helped me with my own projects in the planning phases, I'll explain why.