What's the next step for me?

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• What's the next step for me?

Hey guys,
      My name is Christopher and I am 15 years old. I wanna become a professional game developer someday.
      I've been developing small games since I'm 9 years old. (Started out with GameMaker and learned C++ soon after).
      I've developed quite a large number of games so far, but they are all just small 2D games.
      The problem is, that whenever I try to make a game that's a little more advanced than just a 2D sidescroller I get to a dead end very soon and then I give up. I've tried to develop every kind of game of every genre in every language with every framework. It just never works out. Maybe my goals are set too high, but I don't want to make a crappy game just that I made something.
      Is there a step between developing small 2D sidescrollers and bigger 3D games that are actually fun to play, that I've been missing out?

Thanks in advance,
      Cranberry

The post was edited 1 time, last by Cranberry ().

• Hey Christopher,

This question has come up a few times before, and the best answer that can be given is for you to take an existing game idea (something simple), and implement the game from start to finish. The reason for doing this is that you can take a well designed game, something like Tetris, Pac-Man, Space Invaders, even Pong, and take it from start to finish. This will show that you have determination and are willing to see a project all the way through, and will also help you to develop your skills as a programmer.