How polished for demo?

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• How polished for demo?

First off, awesome book guys. I've been coding c++ for 5 years and you guys both echoed a lot of my own thoughts on programming and taught me a lot as well.

Does Teapot wars have enough polish as a game to show as a demo? Of course, I am not going to do that. I just want to know what level of completion I should aim for.

For example, do I need things like volume sliders, the ability to save the game, exception handling, etc.?
    • RE: How polished for demo?

That depends on what you want to do, but probably not. Teapot Wars is really just a tech demo to demonstrate the engine. That's not what you want. I'll probably spend anywhere from 2 - 10 minutes playing your game. I also won't be able to see your source code, so it won't matter much until the actual interview.

In the end, what you want is something complete and relatively simple. A single level of a platformer, complete with UI, powerups, some kind of art (programmer art is fine but you should be loading assets), and a jumping mechanic that feels really good would be a fine example. Another example might be a top-down RPG similar to the old Final Fantasy or Dragon Quest games.

The key is that the first 10 minutes of gameplay should feel good, which is really only achieved by peer review. Here's you do that:

1) Find a friend or colleague who has never seen your game.
      2) Put them in front of the game on the main menu.
      3) Tell them you are look for brutally honest feedback.
      4) Tell them to start playing and to say everything they're thinking out loud.
      5) This ends the part of the playtest where you're allowed to speak. :)
      6) Watch them play the game and take notes. If they seem confused, write it down. If they get frustrated or can't get through something or don't understand some concept, write it down.