Getting a Job

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Getting a Job

Hey Mike,

In your book you mentioned how your first job at Origin was obtained almost without any C or C++ experience on your part (unless I read it wrong). Mainly how you got into the business on the strength of your devotion and the people who hired you seeing it.

Do you still think this is possible now-a-days?

I will be graduating this upcoming June (hopefully :P) with a BS in Computer Engineering and an MS is Systems Engineering but ever since I was a kid I wanted to program video games. I am considering staying at the university to do a Ph.D. (at least my boss wants me too) and doing a doctorate in computer programming, but I wonder, is this the best way to get into the business? I am mainly afraid of losing another two years to get a degree that won't help me attain my dream.

I guess I am a fair programmer. I haven't really written any of my own games from scratch to finish, but did mess around a lot in various MUDs and read through many Game Development Series books by LaMothe to become familiarized with DirectX.

So what do you say?

Nos

PS. I am still reading your book currently and many parts go hand-in-hand with a software engineering class I am currently taking (you know.. all about CVS, models, specs... etc.)