Introduction

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Introduction

Hi there!
      I just wanted to introduce myself (well, I know it's a little bit late,
      since I have already been on this forum for about half a year, but better late than never, isn't it?).
      I'm a 20 years old computer science student from Germany and startet programming in my first semester (I'm now in my 4th semester). I know Java, C++ and C#.
      While we need (only) Java at University, I learn C++, because I was very interested in it. When looking for projects to do with C++, I came across game programming and especially GCC. Thank you very much, Mike and Rez, for this wunderful book. I haven't completely finished it yet, but I really like the architecture and especially the Event- and Process- systems. Your book has taught me a lot, and I can only recommend it, it's one of the greates books I've ever read (which are not too less).
      I also really like this forum, I'm reading every day here, and lately I've been thinking about simply introducing myself to join this wonderful community. Well, here I am :)
      About one month ago, I became interested in C#, and since I am able to learn quite fast and already know Java and C++, this was possible quite fast.
      Now that I know the basics of C#, I'm reading a book about C# game programming (amazon.com/books/dp/1435455568), which is also great IMHO. Thus far, I have only done a few minigames (like Snake, for example), but as soon as I finish said book and have some free time, I want to make a more complex game, something like a small RPG.