starting from scratch

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• starting from scratch

Hello everyone, let me get the intro out of the way, I'm new to programming and even newer to game programming. I have a working knowledge of c++ and just started into game programming. I've written a couple of 2d games (an asteroids clone and a parrallax scrolling shooter) and bought GCC4 recently to expand on what I've learnt. The thing is I'd like to start my engine from scratch and wondered if there was a bit of skeleton code to start from, ie just an initial setup without all of the GCC dependancies. Then I could go through the book a step at a time adding as i go along. Perhaps this is not the best way to go through the book and if not perhaps someone could give me some tips on how to progress from the beginning of the book. So far I have an empty solution-project setup the way the book suggests with the directory structure in place like I said I'm new to this so a little help on how to get started is all I need.

thanx
    • Actually, I might have some advice as I tried doing the same. When I first began my "game programmer" career (as a hobbyist) I wanted to create my own engine from the get go, but soon found out that it's not a possible task for ONE person.

I will give you the advice that saved me from wasting time and helped me (still does) to not give up.

"MAKE A GAME!!!!!! Stop buying books on Amazon, quit skipping over the Math concepts so you don't rely on these stupid Math libraries. But most importantly; start NOW!".

It might not sound like much, but this is what keeps me going. Like Rez said on a thread here, many newbies start buying books after books in search of the PERFECT one that will solve the unsolvable. Well, the truth is, this is a horrible hole to fall into.

For example, these are the books I currently own;

GCC4
      Frank De Luna's DX11 and DX10
      AI For Games (IAN Millington)