Tetris Clone

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Tetris Clone

I am planning to make a Tetris clone as I am just starting out. It will be a windows-only program as I am trying to get the hang of Windows/DirectX programming (the book needs an API tutorial because it leaves beginning game-programmers like me in the dark).

Anyways, I am trying to think about how will I structure this game, and I thought I should collaborate with others while making and planning the game to make sure I don't develop any bad habits.

All I have so far are rudimentary thoughts on how I will store the objects- a 2d array for the grid and each tetris piece will be a array of blocks.

What else do I have to think about when making this and any (constructive)suggestions about making the game are welcome.
    • I just did this a few months ago Using the GCC4 engine.

[IMG:http://www.jason-wendlandt.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/gameplay-01.jpg]

I went the same route. I used a 10x20 2D array to store locations of block pieces. (Actually it became a 10x25 array to handle elements that were just created but still off screen.) I essentially stored my Actor ID information in the Grid array, and then I would perform my game logic against the grid and would move/destroy blocks using that information.

I think the biggest road block I ran into was how to destroy the pieces of the blocks. I started out with static blocks that I had modeled in Blender and exported out to sdkmesh, which worked great , appearance wise, until I wanted to destroy a section of the mesh. I ended up piecing together tetris blocks with individual cubes to solve this. Then I could just destroy pieces of a block by removing specific cubes from it's SceneNode hierarchy.

Other than that, i pretty much based my logic off of the Tetris Wikipedia page here: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tetris

I hope that helps a bit. :)
    • Thanks,