Question about being getting into game programming

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Question about being getting into game programming

Hey folks,

I finally made it and registered here. In the past I just read some posts here occasionally, but now I may or may not have some questions for you. Since I know that some of you guys work in the gaming industry on AAA game productions I want to ask especially those of you some questions and hope you can answer me them. Not knowing if someone else ever came up with the same questions as I.

First of all I want to give you some introduction I'm currently living in Germany and am about to turn 22. I'm studying computer science at an university (not a "real" university don't know if there is any word for it in english... its more oriented on practical training than theoretical topics).

Ever since I began playing around with the first computer I dreamed of creating my own games or at least being part of the process of creating a game. I guess like nearly everyone else on this bulletin board, too. Thus I looked around what I needed to do in order to fulfill my dream. At some time I had to choose between the path of an artist or of a programmer. I picked the second path since I already was envolved in creating websites and started learning php (which doesn't mean I am not interested in photoshop and 3D software such as maya, z brush and so on)