New to c++ and game programming: What books in what order?

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• New to c++ and game programming: What books in what order?

I am a recent engineering (computer systems) grad and did most of my programming in C# with some classes in ASM (mainly PIC programming), LabVIEW, VHDL, some ladder logic for PLC's, etc. I want to do game programming professionally and would appreciate some pointers (:P) to which books to read and in which order. I have "more" time to burn as I'm currently working part-time at the university where I graduated.

I started out with the c++ language tutorial from cplusplus.com. I then worked through "Beginning C++ Through Game Programming, Second Edition" by Michael Dawson. I then started reading GCC3 and feel that before going deeper into the book and topics I need a better working knowledge of c++.

In chapter 3 of GCC3 (page 81 to be exact) there is a list of recommended books for further reading. Now, I'm not intimidated by reading, but I'm unsure where to start with the list. I saw on the amazon listing for "Thinking in C++" by Bruce Eckel that a reviewer suggested reading "Accelerated C++" and then the book by Mr. Eckel. The reviewer (Don Kim) argued that reading the books in that order helped him "get it". Now I haven't reached the "get it" moment and would very much like to :P He also suggests this is a good ordering for people familiar with other languages wanting to learn C++.

If you agree with reading these two books and in that order, in what order do you think the other books in the recommended reading list should be read?

Obviously game programming is so much more than just a couple of books on C++, but I need a firm grasp of the language since its what I want to do in the industry. I also need to be able to demonstrate my skills before I have any chance of being employed.

Btw. great site and great book... :)