Linking problems

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Linking problems

I am a novice programmer, and this is my first time using the Visual C++ 2005 Express Edition environment - so please forgive my ignorance. I am having trouble linking the libraries, and getting a whole bunch of LNK 2019 errors. Could someone familiar with this environment give me a rundown of the settings for the library directories and such? I have read the read me files, but am still unable to identify the problem.

- Thanks
    • RE: Linking problems

There really is only one error, repeating about 140 times. They all refer to an unresolved external symbols:

dxutd.lib(DXUTmisc.obj) : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol __imp__GetForegroundWindow@0 referenced in function "public: __thiscall CD3DArcBall::CD3DArcBall(void)" (??0CD3DArcBall@@QAE@XZ)
      dxerr9.lib(dxerr9.obj) : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol __imp__GetForegroundWindow@0
      dxutd.lib(DXUTmisc.obj) : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol __imp__SetCursorPos@8 referenced in function "protected: void __thiscall CBaseCamera::UpdateMouseDelta(float)" (?UpdateMouseDelta@CBaseCamera@@IAEXM@Z)

Here is a short sampling. The whole log can be viewed attached. I think I just have my library paths screwed up, but I am not sure...

Basically, these errors are telling you that the linker can't find the body of those functions. This is almost always a result of forgetting to set up your linker paths and/or to explicitly link the LIB files you need.

I can't recall off-hand where those functions are defined, but you should only have to add the libs to your project settings. You could always do a search for the function prototypes and figure out what library they're defined if it's not apparent.

You set up libs in Projects -> Properties -> Linker -> Input -> Additional Dependencies