Good starting books for an hungry newbie

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Good starting books for an hungry newbie

Hi guys this is my first time writing this is a great site
      I am a newbie and to tell u the truth that means that I know almost nothing of C++. I really want to learn so if u could recomend me a book or anything from which I can learn to program and then make the big step to make a game. Thanks

The post was edited 1 time, last by jona ().

• RE: Good starting books for an hungry newbie

Well, first you should know that learning C++ and learning to program are two different things. There are tons of good "learn C++" books out there, but the "learn to program" aspect is a bit tougher.

As a general rule, if it's published by O'Reily, its a good book. They usually survive very well as references, too.

You might consider a book like oreilly.com/catalog/cplus2/
      or
      oreilly.com/catalog/1932111263/
      but I haven't read either of them. I actually learned to program in Java initially, taught by the creator of javabook.org. The C book I learned from was "Pointers on C" (amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/deta…v=glance&s=books&n=507846),
      which is good, but a bit pricey (and small for its price). The C++ book I used was C++ From the Ground Up, which was essentially stolen from a friend. amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/deta…v=glance&s=books&n=507846
      It's decent enough.

I'm beginning to worry this reply isn't helping you. Basically, whatever book you DO choose, read the pointers chapter over and over until you are 100% knowledgable on them, because they are everything in C/++
      -Larrik Jaerico

www.LarrikJ.com
    • There are plenty of great books for any programming language. I suggest hanging out in a book store and flipping through the books thoroughly to see if any book speaks to you. It is good to have one good C++ reference book in your library.