Just started

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Just started

Hey guys , i'm a computer science student .in my 4th year currently .and i want to learn game programming so i started with 'Game Coding Complete - 4th Edition' and i read like 3 chapters .and i thought this book will teach how to create a game .but all i found is tips and tricks .
      so i was just wondering when do i start building my own game .and does the book walk me through building a game step by step or does it require me to have prior knowledge of game development?
      thanks in advance
    • i read first 3 chapters and a little bit of the 4th ,there was a title (creating a project). i thought it would actaully walk me through creating a new project but it was just tips for creating a project ,like choosing a good directory and good name for the project . that's why i'm asking if the book actaully teaches you to actually create your project step by step .
    • Marfish wrote:

Hey guys , i'm a computer science student .in my 4th year currently .and i want to learn game programming so i started with 'Game Coding Complete - 4th Edition' and i read like 3 chapters .and i thought this book will teach how to create a game .but all i found is tips and tricks .
      so i was just wondering when do i start building my own game .and does the book walk me through building a game step by step or does it require me to have prior knowledge of game development?
      thanks in advance

The book doesn't walk you through building a game step by step. It presents topics on game development and uses the included source for illustration. And there is a lot of code, enough in volume and complexity to daunt someone who's just beginning with C++ and/or game development.

It doesn't require you to have prior knowledge of game development, but I think it is far too advanced and complex for a beginner. I suggest that you start with simpler books: