Finally Starting First Game

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Finally Starting First Game

I started reading this book back in 2012 and got busy and stopped. I recently played through Axiom Verge and absolutely loved it. I found that the game was created in MonoGame, which is done with C#. I decided I can't wait any longer and need to create a game now.

I'm creating my game using MonoGame (XNA). I'm a C# dev by trade, so I know the language very well. I read through the book once and am reading through it a second time while writing code and making the engine as I go. Things aren't exactly lining up perfectly, but I've been able to translate most things so far. Destructors are a sticking point that I need to work around. I'm currently doing everything pretty much 1-to-1. I've though about just doing something even more basic and just adding things in, but my plan is to do it nearly identical, then refactor and delete things after.

I'm mostly a retro gamer, so all the games I have planned are 2D, and probably tile based. I think I'm going to use the Tiled mapeditor.org format. This will allow me to use their editor to create tile maps, and if I want to (or have time), I can build it into my own level editor.

I'm sure I'll have lots of questions in the next couple of years while working on this.
    • Nice! My biggest piece of advice is to not bite off more than you can chew. Most people fail at making their first game because they try to do too much. Do something incredibly simple, like Tetris. Cloning a classic game is a great way to learn since you are only concentrating on the tech.

C# does have destructors:
      msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/66x5fx1b.aspx