In-game item management/storage

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• In-game item management/storage

How do you figure a game like Skyrim keeps track of all the items throughout the entire game? I can go into a house, knock everything off of the kitchen table, spend the next 40 hours playing the game, and go back in the house to see everything exactly where it landed after my roid rage - and I think that's awesome. Is there some kind of mini database that they implement or something? I'm sorry if this has been asked before, I tried searching but didn't find anything.

I'm sure it's probably a blatantly obvious thing, but I'm a newb so have some mercy. :D
    • You may have heard about Skyrim/Fallout etc having issues with massive save files, I am assuming that they are literally saving the state of every single object/npc (at least the information that matters that is).
      PC - Custom Built
      CPU: 3rd Gen. Intel i7 3770 3.4Ghz
      GPU: ATI Radeon HD 7959 3GB
      RAM: 16GB

Laptop - Alienware M17x
      CPU: 3rd Gen. Intel i7 - Ivy Bridge
      GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M - 2GB GDDR5
      RAM: 8GB Dual Channel DDR3 @ 1600mhz
    • There are a LOT of ways to handle this. In general, you have a static world that never changes (towns, trees, rocks, etc.) which makes up a huge part of your world. Then you have a set of dynamic objects that all have the ability to change, but even those have pieces of static data.

For example, let's say I cast whirlwind inside a house. What actually happened? A bunch of positions got changed, but nothing else. You still have a list of objects in that room, they just have different positions. If you eat a piece of bread, all you do is remove that object from the object list and don't save it out. If you have a magic staff with charges, you need to save out those charges, but probably not the model / texture info.