Game building suggestion?

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Game building suggestion?

Hi,

After reading Game Coding Complete 2nd Edition, I think I can make video games now. :) I want to make a small 2D game at home for fun. There is no rush or deadline for the game to complete.

Since I've been using C++ and other Microsoft languages for over ten years now, for server side stuffs though, I'm quite comfortable with the architecture and implementation shown in the book and demo. I very like the flexible, powerful and reliable side of C++.

I only want to support DirectX 1.0, because I do not want to use any of the 3D or networking stuffs. Is it possible? Can still found download for DirectX 1.0 SDK?

Have you ever heard about a tool called BlitzPlus? Does anyone use it for developing real games? I took at look at their demos of the language. Hard to believe I can use it to do anything serious. But, I do not know for sure. It does can take care of the DirectX implementations and support DirectX 1.0. Should I use it and apply Game Coding complete's architecture to build my home-grow game?

What is your suggestion?

Thanks, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!
    • I would strongly suggest against using the DirectX 1 API. If you want to make 2D games, you're much better off using DirectX 9 with a fixed camera (I think XP shipped with DX9...). Their ID3DXSprite isn't bad and you can wrap all the 3D stuff without much trouble. Furthermore, you'll get things like sprite scaling & rotation (traditionally expensive in 2D) for free. You can also use some fun 3D effects like lighting, texture filtering, alpha blending, etc. with very little headache.

If you're dead-set on using DirectDraw, you should at least use the DirectX 7 interface. If nothing else, it has many performance enhancements and bug fixes.